Lazy, Loafing Lover Flirts with Work

I am in my late twenties. I have achieved the goals I have set for myself. College degree, job, house. My boyfriend and I split living in his home and mine. We have been together about 3 years. We discuss marriage and children as something we would both like to do. He has been floundering employment wise. Recently, his family asked him to come and learn the business so he could eventually take it over since they are getting older and wish to retire. The business is well established and successful. It is in another state. My career is here and when I have children I want to be near my family. I also want him to be happy and self- supporting. I’m definitely not leaving but he is ambivalent. I don’t want to pressure him to stay but I want him to stay and continue our life together. Advice!

Quick: Congrats on your life accomplishments. A degree, job and house are very impressive for your late 20’s. I wish I knew more about your relationship. The bits that I have make me suspect your boyfriend is a marginal citizen… Floundering with employment? Is he working? Are you supporting him? This situation will not improve without some work on his part. If he wants to take over the family business, you must support his decision. Please don’t talk him out of leaving, if he decides he wants to pursue this avenue. Don’t have children with someone who hasn’t figured out the world of work.

 

Quack:  You sound like an accomplished and determined woman. You have obviously made important decisions and are quite capable of follow through. You have decided not to leave. Make another decision: tell him what you want. Then deal with the consequences of your choices. Don’t dilly dally.

Quick: Please don’t tell him what you want unless you want him to stay and continue to loaf on the couch rather than finding gainful employment.

Author: drsquickandquack

We are Undercover Psychologists. Advice with Attitude.

Leave a comment